We’re off to Langkawi today.
Our pick-up from the hotel is 10 am for a 1 pm flight. Trick for new players flying domestic out of KL – don’t go through security until you need to … particularly not if you’re hungry. There’s nothing on offer other than Gloria Jeans, Dunkin Donuts, Burger King and a couple of dodgy-looking places selling coffee and sweet things.
We ended up at Burger King. Confession time … I’ve never eaten anything from Burger King or its Aussie equivalent, Hungry Jacks. Please don’t judge me. We have no idea what we’re doing with those automated kiosks or what we’re ordering so opt for junior burgers.
The flight was quick and easy, bag collection was quick and easy, and locating our driver was also quick and easy. In fact, we were at our hotel, Mercure at Chenang Beach, within an hour of landing.
I need a swim badly, but the pool is mobbed and there are no lounges free, so we opt for a walk along the beach.




Kalut Cafe and Bar looks castaway-inviting, so we wander in and order beers and satays.
Back at the hotel, it’s into happy hour, i.e., just gone 5-ish, the pool lounges have freed up, so we can have a much-needed swim … and a cocktail. Now we’re on holiday …


We had dinner at the hotel tonight. Arriving around 7.15 pm, several large Muslim family groups soon flooded in. We watched them load their plates from the buffet, fill their glasses, and then sit and wait. Some Arabic music was played, and at 7.33 PM, they all took their first sip after Iftar to break the daily fast, before beginning to eat. Fascinating, and moving.
Grant ordered the laksa (very good) and I had chicken rice (only okay). The rice was good, the chicken dry, and the broth tasted of stock cube. Yes, I’m fussy.


I’m still not sure how I feel about it here. It’s very hot - very hot. The overnight lows are close to 30 C. I’m also feeling crowded, and I don’t know why. We’ll see how the next few days pan out.





Airport food is terrific in a few US airports like Chicago and New York, but many offer the same dreary chain-like stuff that is awful...love the look of that Martini - cheers!
I probably won't help things by saying I swam alone on a white empty beach yesterday morning.
But... no cocktails...